June 4, 2021

2021 LEAD Award for Mayors

The 2021 Ann Cline Deatherage Leadership Enrichment And Development (LEAD) Award
Application Deadline is August 16, 2021

Ann Cline Deatherage was a lifelong public servant who served as both councilmember and mayor of the City of Carrollton. After her passing in February 2020, her family wished to endow an award through KLC to honor her legacy and the Mayor Ann C. Deatherage LEAD Award was established.

Purpose: The purpose of the LEAD award is to recognize Kentucky mayors whose leadership demonstrates passion for local public service and commitment to lifelong learning. The LEAD award is specifically designed to benefit mayors from cities that have a limited education/training budget.

Apply here.

The “Leadership Enrichment And Development” (LEAD) scholarship award program will benefit mayors throughout Kentucky by providing financial assistance for Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) conferences and learning events.

September 21-24, 2021 KLC Conference & Expo, Covington

  • The LEAD scholarship will cover all registration costs for event.
  • Winners will be recognized during the Conference Awards Luncheon.
  • Winners will also receive a scholarship to the 2022 KLC City Officials Academy.

In addition to serving in leadership at KLC as a Board of Directors and Executive Board member, Mayor Deatherage had more continuing education hours than any city official in the state. As a result, she inspired a KLC Master’s Level training program to recognize city officials whose commitment to learning reaches an exceptional level. Her devotion to making her city a better place impressed all who knew her and had a profound impact on her community. Through the scholarship, her example will enable others to follow her lead.