March 5, 2020

Mayor Ann C. Deatherage Memorial Scholarship Announced

The Ann C. Deatherage Leadership Enrichment And Development (LEAD) Scholarship Program

Mayor Ann Cline Deatherage, who passed away in February 2020, was a local leader in the truest sense.  Her profound impact on her city and community will long be remembered by the people she served, her many friends and associates in cities across Kentucky and at KLC.  

In honor of Ann Cline Deatherage’s passion for lifelong learning and her commitment to community and public service, her family has established the Mayor Ann C. Deatherage LEAD Award.  

The “Leadership Enrichment And Development” (LEAD) scholarship program will benefit mayors throughout Kentucky by providing financial assistance for Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) conferences and learning events.

In addition to serving in leadership at KLC as a Board of Directors and Executive Board member, Mayor Deatherage acquired more continuing education hours than any city official in the state. As a result, she inspired a KLC Master’s Level training program to recognize city officials whose commitment to learning reaches an exceptional level. Her devotion to making her city a better place impressed all who knew her and had a profound impact on her community. Through the scholarship, her example will enable others to follow her lead.

You may send your tax-deductible donation to the Mayor Ann C. Deatherage LEAD Scholarship fund:
Mayor Ann C. Deatherage LEAD Scholarship
c/o Kentucky League of Cities
100 E. Vine Street, Suite 800
Lexington, KY 40507

Mayor Deatherage (1935-2020) Accomplishments and Leadership Roles:

  • Graduated from Carrollton High School in 1953 and from the University of Kentucky in 1957
  • Taught school for 30 years and substituted for 17 additional years
  • First female mayor of Carrollton, Kentucky - 1999-2006
  • Carrollton City Councilmember - 1985, 1986-1989, 2011-2014, 2019-2020
  • Kentucky Educational Television (KET) Board of Directors
  • Northern Kentucky Area Development District (NKADD) Board of Directors
  • Council for Aging
  • First female Democratic Chair for Carroll County
  • First female president of Carrollton Christian Church
  • Democratic Women's Club
  • Kentucky Education Association (KEA)
  • 2005 Northern Kentucky Ambassador Award 
  • Spent countless hours in Washington, D.C. working with U.S. Senator Jim Bunning to secure funding for a wastewater treatment plant in Carroll County
  • KLC Board of Directors - 2004-2006, 2011-2014
  • KLC Executive Board of Directors - 2011-2014  


Mayor Deatherage with KLC Executive Director/CEO J.D. Chaney and KLC Immediate Past President and Williamsburg Mayor Roddy Harrison.