KLC Awards

KLC Awards and Scholarships

The Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) Awards 

Congratulations to the 2021 KLC Award winners! All will be recognized in their home cities with local presentations.

  • The 2021 Elected City Official of the Year is Somerset Mayor Alan Keck.
  • The 2021 City Employee of the Year is Morehead Police Chief Derrick Blevins. 
  • The 2021 City Government of the Year is the City of Covington.

Learn more about the 2021 winners here.

Since 1999, the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) has been recognizing cities, city officials and city employees for their contributions to the commonwealth. The annual awards program for Elected City Official of the Year, the City Employee of the Year and the City Government of the Year is an opportunity to recognize the exceptional work being done by Kentucky cities and the people leading them.

The Elected City Official of the Year Award recognizes a dynamic official who demonstrates outstanding leadership and innovation. You can nominate for the 2022 Elected City Official of the Year here.

The City Employee of the Year Award brings recognition to an exceptional city employee who performs at a distinguished level to improve his or her local government and community. You can nominate for the 2022 City Employee of the Year here.

The KLC City Government of the Year Award recognizes a city that has done something transformational. You can nominate for the 2022 City Government of the Year here.

LEAD Award

Congratulations to the 2021 LEAD Award winners:

  • Benton Mayor Rita Dotson
  • Middlesboro Mayor Rick Nelson
  • Sparta Mayor Sidney Gullion

Applications are now being taken for the 2022 LEAD Award.

Ann Cline Deatherage was a lifelong public servant who served as both councilmember and mayor of the City of Carrollton. After her passing in February 2020, her family wished to endow an award through KLC to honor her legacy and the Mayor Ann C. Deatherage LEAD Award was established. 


The purpose of the LEAD award is to recognize Kentucky mayors whose leadership demonstrates passion for local public service and commitment to lifelong learning. The LEAD award is specifically designed to benefit mayors from cities that have a limited education/training budget.

The “Leadership Enrichment And Development” (LEAD) scholarship award program will benefit mayors throughout Kentucky by providing financial assistance for Kentucky League of Cities (KLC) conferences and learning events. 

  • The LEAD scholarship will cover all registration costs for events. 
  • Winners will be recognized during the Conference & Expo Awards Luncheon. 
  • Winners will also receive a scholarship to the KLC City Officials Academy.

In addition to serving in leadership at KLC as a Board of Directors and Executive Board member, Mayor Deatherage had more continuing education hours than any city official in the state. As a result, she inspired a KLC Master’s Level training program to recognize city officials whose commitment to learning reaches an exceptional level. Her devotion to making her city a better place impressed all who knew her and had a profound impact on her community. Through the scholarship, her example will enable others to follow her lead.